KT defeats DB in overtime to reach KBL Cup quarterfinals. SK also joins after beating Sono

Suwon KT advanced to the quarterfinals with a dramatic win.

KT defeated Wonju DB 108-106 in the final game of Group A of the 2023 MG SaeMaeGogo KBL Cup at Wolmyeong Gymnasium in Gunsan on Wednesday.

With the victory, KT won its second straight game after defeating Sangmu 102-84 to advance to the quarterfinals as the group leader. The tournament is a group stage tournament where two or three teams are grouped together and the top four teams in each group advance to determine the winner.

After leading 58-47 at the half, KT fell behind 74-76 to DB’s late surge led by Dedrick Lawson and Lee Sun Albano. KT was still trailing 90-94 with two minutes left in the fourth quarter.

However, KT managed to tie the game with the help of Choi Sung-mo and new foreigner Paris Bass. In the end, the game went into overtime with the score tied at 96-96.

In overtime, KT took advantage of a three-point play by Filipino Shaun Dave Ildefonso, who has been playing in the Asian quarter since last season, to win the game 106-104. For KT, Bass led the way with 27 points, followed by Lee Doo-won with 15 points (9 rebounds) and Ildefonso with 14 points.

DB was led by Lawson with 37 points (6 rebounds) and Albano with 20 points (11 assists), while Kang Sang-jae added 17 points (10 rebounds), Kim Jong-kyu with 14 points and Park In-woong with 13 points (6 rebounds).

Seoul SK also joined the quarterfinals. The team defeated Goyang Sono 88-80 in the final game of Group C. With two wins, SK clinched the top 토토 spot in the group, ahead of Seoul Samsung (1 win, 1 loss) and Sono (2 losses).

SK was led by Jamil Warney (21 points, 10 rebounds) and Oh Se-geun (11 points, 9 rebounds) in double figures, with Hong Kyung-ki and Heo Il-young adding nine points apiece. For SONO, Jerod Johnson (23 points, 6 rebounds), Jeon Sung-hyun (16 points), Han Hobin (15 points), and Park Jong-ha (12 points) reached double figures.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *